Thrift Store Shoppers

Miss Judy and I like to browse the thrift stores for hidden treasures, sort of like curb shopping but it is indoors. Since one man’s trash is another man’s treasures, we often find amazing things.We were on the way to Kissimmee on a Saturday and stopped by the charming downtown area of St Cloud. Thrift stores and Goodwills abound. We spent hours rummaging . You can find wonderful dog toys for twenty five cents and even Princess house kitchen items.

I found a book by Art Brownstein, MD, called Extraordinary Healing. The book was a whole $1.50 so how could I go wrong?  This book has proven to be a treasure. The subjects that he wrote about were way ahead of their time (book was written in 2005).  If you can find a copy of this book, the chapter called The Power of Your Mind and Your Healing System was especially intriguing. He recommended the book, Healing Mantras by Thomas Ashley-Farrand.

Dr Brownstein speaks of many case studies of people getting better using the power of the mind. He recommended focusing on four core beliefs (you can choose your own) but here was his suggestion:

I am lovable just as I am. I deserve to be happy, healthy, and fulfilled in my life. My body has a healing system, and it knows how to heal itself. My body wants to be healthy.

Since Frankincense has been used for spiritual connections, I am going to try using a drop of it while I focus on positive beliefs like the ones above.

This book is so inspiring and has much more to offer than presented here.  Dr Brownstein is also the author of a book on healing back pain.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

