Do your own pest control – tips for fleas and ticks

http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/videos.php

I never had fleas in my house until my new neighbors moved in with two dogs. I think the squirrels and Ferrel cats are sharing them. The topical treatments aren’t working and I don’t want the toxins on the dogs anyway. I wanted to go to Eukanuba today but opted to stay home and work on dogs. I washed every dog, vacuumed, mopped, washed bedding, and sprayed the rugs with an essential oil mixture. You can use a mixture of peppermint, citronella and lemongrass or Orange and purification. Geranium oil is also effective for fleas. Mix the oils in a glass spray bottle with distilled water or witch hazel. (Always patch test for color safety of your rugs.) I used cedarcide on the yard. This treatment followed by a repeat in two weeks was working until recently. I continued to see the odd stray flea on one or two of the dogs and it was making me crazy. I decided to do some research and found this video from a pest control company. They stressed how important vacuuming was for a successful outcome. I had no idea how import it was to vacuum. According to the video, if you don’t vacuum, you are spinning your wheels. The vacuum sucks up the adults and stimulates the flea eggs to hatch. She said to vacuum daily while doing the treatment if you want to be flea free. The video shows some other tips as well so it is worth watching.

Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

